Frete Grátis
  • Google Plus

James Branch Cabell And Richmond-In-Virginia (Cód: 7220026)

Edgar MacDonald

University Press of Mississippi POD

Ooopss! Este produto está temporariamente indisponível.
Mas não se preocupe, nós avisamos quando ele chegar.

Ooops! Este produto não está mais a venda.
Mas não se preocupe, temos uma versão atualizada para você.

Ooopss! Este produto está fora de linha, mas temos outras opções para você.
Veja nossas sugestões abaixo!

R$ 182,80 R$ 164,50 (-10%) em até 5x de R$ 32,90 sem juros
Cartão Saraiva R$ 156,28 (-5%) em até 1x no cartão ou em até 8x de R$ 20,56 sem juros

Cartão Saraiva


James Branch Cabell and Richmond-in-Virginia
by Edgar MacDonald

In his prime Vanity Fair nominated James Branch Cabell for 'Immortality' on its pages reserved for acclaiming the most select of notable achievers. Favored by the intelligentsia, Cabell was the author of a series of fabulous, well-told fictions that in the 1920s made him a household literary name. Among his many acclaimed books published by 1930 are Jurgen, The Lineage of Lichfield, The Silver Stallion, Something About Eve, The White Robe, and The Works of James Branch Cabell in eighteen volumes. By the time of his death in 1958 the list of his works had become prodigiously long, but he had been in eclipse for almost three decades. This definitive biography serves to restore to Cabell the recognition he deserves. Here he is portrayed as a jesting critic of southern chivalry, an ambivalent artist whose feelings for Richmond required a lifetime to reconcile. He was quintessentially a Virginian. His native Richmond shaped him, and its social milieu indelibly marked him. He matured as a writer in the climate of the postbellum South and excelled in subjecting the rigid graces of 'Richmond-in-Virginia' to satire and burlesque. Like his fellow Virginian Ellen Glasgow, he had mixed emotions about home. Not to love Virginia was an act of betrayal, yet to condone its stultifying, Old South idealism was to betray oneself. With the deterioration of Richmond's Edwardian values in the 1920s Cabell emerged as a major literary figure, hailed as an iconoclast and debunker of myths, but by the 1930s his mannered, self-conscious style was out of fashion. Cabell was dogged by scandal. There was the question of homosexuality. It was charged that he murdered the man reputed to be his mother's lover. After a notorious New York trial his most notable book Jurgen was suppressed for violating antiobscenity laws. In this inclusive examination of Cabell's life and milieu a fascinating literary figure is rescued from the literary shadows and acknowledged as a writer of major worth in the canon of American literature.

Edgar MacDonald is Cabell Scholar-in-Residence at the James Branch Cabell Library, Virginia Commonwealth University.


Produto sob encomenda Sim
Marca University Press of Mississippi POD
Cód. Barras 9781604738568
Altura 22.90 cm
I.S.B.N. 9781604738568
Profundidade 2.34 cm
Referência 9781604738568
Ano da edição 1993
Idioma Inglês
Número de Páginas 414
Peso 0.45 Kg
Largura 152.00 cm
AutorEdgar MacDonald


Avaliação geral: 0

Você está revisando: James Branch Cabell And Richmond-In-Virginia