Frete Grátis
  • Google Plus

Phineas Newborn Jr. Trio Duke Jordan Trio - DVD (Cód: 2718067)

Masters of Modern Jazz Piano

SMV Entretenimento

Ooopss! Este produto está temporariamente indisponível.
Mas não se preocupe, nós avisamos quando ele chegar.

Ooops! Este produto não está mais a venda.
Mas não se preocupe, temos uma versão atualizada para você.

Ooopss! Este produto está fora de linha, mas temos outras opções para você.
Veja nossas sugestões abaixo!

R$ 62,90 em até 2x de R$ 31,45 sem juros
Cartão Saraiva R$ 59,76 (-5%) em até 1x no cartão ou em até 3x de R$ 20,97 sem juros

Cartão Saraiva:

Total: R$0,00

Em até 2x sem juros de R$ 0,00

Phineas Newborn Jr. Trio Duke Jordan Trio - DVD



An extremely gifted piano player and the inventor of the double octave technique, the career of Phineas Newborn Jr. (1931- 1989) was seriously marred by his emotional problems, which led to frequent visits to mental institutions and a subsequent semiretirement before dying in obscurity. Highly influenced by Oscar Peterson, Art Tatum and Bud Powell, Newborn possessed an exceptional technique with both hands, as shown here on his composition 'Blues for the Left Hand Only'. Although many critics of the period felt that Phineas' style was too prone to fireworks and lacked subtlety, his playing on this rare TV show is superb, and clearly justifies Leonard Feather's comment that 'In his prime, he was one of
the three greatest jazz pianists of all time.' Primarily known for his late-forties recordings with Charlie Parker and for being the composer of the standard 'Jordu' (which he plays during this concert; the title is a pun on his own name), Duke Jordan (1922-2006) was nevertheless a very interesting pianist with a subtle touch and very inventive melodic ideas. This 1985 performance finds him in Copenhagen – where he resided since 1978 – backed by local musicians.

Faixas do DVD:

01. Introduction 2:18
02. Theme for Basie 5:26 (Phineas Newborn Jr.)
03. Lush Life 5:13 (Billy Strayhorn)
04. Blues for the Left Hand Only 3:20 (Phineas Newborn Jr.)
05. New Blues 5:06 (Phineas Newborn Jr.)
06. Oleo 4:32 (Sonny Rollins)
07. Dances a Ball 7:52 (Duke Jordan)
08. Medley: Lush Life (Billy Strayhorn)/Solitude 6:04 (Duke Ellington)
09. Gone with the Wind 7:16 (Grubel-Magidson)
10. Jordu 6:22 (Duke Jordan)


Produto sob encomenda Não
Marca SMV Entretenimento
Cód. Barras 8436028695355
Altura 18.50 cm
Profundidade 1.50 cm
Referência IJ 535
Duração Aproximada Aprox. 54 Min.
Classificação Indicativa Livre para todos os públicos
Peso 0.11 Kg
Largura 13.50 cm
AutorMasters of Modern Jazz Piano


Avaliação geral: 0

Você está revisando: Phineas Newborn Jr. Trio Duke Jordan Trio - DVD